Unitful.jl | possibly mislabelled AbstractTypes, rare sametype() error | new user observations

Hello everyone;

I have been getting the hang of the very nice Unitful.jl package recently. I really like it, and would like to take the chance to thank those in the community who develop(ed) and maintain(ed) this package!

I thought it might be worth sharing a two observations that came up while I’ve been learning (so far); perhaps it will help someone else in the future.

1. Unitful.jl: document the difference between AbstractType and @derived_dimension
  2. sametype() error when comparing Unitful.jl values

Please note; neither observation means I cannot use Unitful.jl happily or productively. Rather I hope just that these things are just nice-to-know and/or good-to-have-on-record.

Thanks for reading and have a nice day!
~~

P.S. I’m an engineer by training, so please consider me essentially a computer science novice. I’m happy to help try to ‘improve’ things in the package, (e.g. documentation?) if I am able to be helpful in this way, but I am not currently sure how I would even start with such a thing or who I should speak with.

Unitful.jl: document the difference between AbstractType and @derived_dimension

In the Unitful.jl documentation section called ‘Dimensions in a type definition’. To me it is saying that Unitful.Length and Unitful.Mass are abstract types:

It may be tempting to specify the dimensions of a quantity in a type definition, e.g.

struct Person
    height::Unitful.Length
    mass::Unitful.Mass
end

However, these are abstract types. If performance is important, it may be better just to pick a concrete Quantity type.

As such, this result seems to be contradictory (to me):

julia> Base.isabstracttype(Unitful.Length)
false

julia> Base.isabstracttype(Unitful.Mass)
false

Even though these are behaving (mostly) like I would expect from AbstractTypes:

julia> typeof(1u"m") <: Unitful.Length
true

julia> typeof(u"m") <: Unitful.Length
false