Understanding several concepts from a julia> ?filter example

I’m new to the language, but somewhat experienced with the programming in general. I am learning from Julia Data Science book and I reached the section discussing filters. Having some issues understanding the material there, I checked the built-in help by typing ?filters in the terminal. One of the examples is this:

julia> d = Dict(1=>"a", 2=>"b")
  Dict{Int64, String} with 2 entries:
    2 => "b"
    1 => "a"

julia> filter(p->isodd(p.first), d)
 Dict{Int64, String} with 1 entry:
    1 => "a"

Now, I’m completely baffled by the first argument in the filter(p->isodd(p.first), d). So, as per the documentation,

filter(f, d::AbstractDict) removes elements for which f is false.

p->isodd(p.first) looks like an anonymous function. I am performing isodd(p.first) on parameter p. What does the parameter p represent here? is it the key, the value, or the pair?

Next, Base.isodd documentation says that isodd returns a boolean based on the number argument, isodd(x::Number) -> Bool. From this I understand that p.first is a number, and the only numbers I have in the Dict are its keys. So here again I am confused by what p.first does. Base.First documentation doesn’t say anything useful. When I try to change .first to .last I get an error.

type Pair has no field last

so when I check Base.Pair documentation it says that

Pair is treated as a single “scalar” for broadcasting operations

Is this what is happening here, is p.first necessary because the whole key/value pair is treated as a single “scalar”? That’s as far as I got through deciphering this. So, 1 => "a" is pair or “scalar” one = odd, bool is true, not removed, 2 => "b" is pair two = even, bool is false, f removes it? Please help me understand this. Even if this is true, why do I need .first? Error when trying just p -> isodd(p) that I’m missing a method for isodd - again, nothing I can figure out from reading the Base.isodd documentation.