Type stability in map call

Hi there, I’m a bit new to Julia, and I can’t seem to figure out how to make my code type-stable. I’m writing some code in the context of feature selection, and the specific function I’m looking at now is meant to create formulas for all predicted variables (ys), given a set of selected right-hand-side variables (rhs). Here is the code:

using StatsModels
function compose(y::Symbol, terms::Vector{Symbol})::FormulaTerm
    return term(y) ~ foldl(+, term.(terms))
end
function get_formulas(ys::Vector{Symbol}, rhs::Vector{Symbol})::Vector{FormulaTerm}
    return map(y::Symbol -> compose(y, rhs), ys)
end

Despite the fixed return type of the compose function and the flawless ‘conversion’ of the map result to the fixed return type of the get_formulas function, the compiler does not think the return type of the map call is stable. Here is the output by @code_warntype:

julia> @code_warntype get_formulas([:y1, :y2], [:x1, :x2])
Variables
  #self#::Core.Const(get_formulas)
  ys::Vector{Symbol}
  rhs::Vector{Symbol}
  #13::var"#13#14"{Vector{Symbol}}

Body::Vector{FormulaTerm}
1 ─ %1 = Core.apply_type(Main.Vector, Main.FormulaTerm)::Core.Const(Vector{FormulaTerm})
│   %2 = Main.:(var"#13#14")::Core.Const(var"#13#14")
│   %3 = Core.typeof(rhs)::Core.Const(Vector{Symbol})
│   %4 = Core.apply_type(%2, %3)::Core.Const(var"#13#14"{Vector{Symbol}})
│        (#13 = %new(%4, rhs))
│   %6 = #13::var"#13#14"{Vector{Symbol}}
│   %7 = Main.map(%6, ys)::Vector{_A} where _A
│   %8 = Base.convert(%1, %7)::Any
│   %9 = Core.typeassert(%8, %1)::Vector{FormulaTerm}
└──      return %9

where ::Vector{_A} where _A (at %7) and ::Any (at %8) are colored red.

Could anyone point me in the direction of type stability?

Things I’ve already tried:

• I tried simply adding ::Vector{FormulaTerm} after the map call, but that results in an error:
TypeError: in typeassert, expected Vector{FormulaTerm}, got a value of type Vector{FormulaTerm{Term, Tuple{Term, Term}}}