Tutorial: Deploying an Oxygen.jl app to Microsoft Azure

Hi everyone,
I’ve recently been working on a web app in Julia and wanted to share what I’ve learned as it may help those in the future. In particular, deploying an API is a new skill for me and so I thought I’d help out the Julia ecosystem by writing a short tutorial.

BUT FIRST!
Big shout out to @ndortega who very kindly answered all my dumb questions as I learned my way around api’s, web apps, julia, etc. And secondly, join us on the Oxygen Discord! if you’re actively using Oxygen to develop any web apps!
Lastly, I am still very new to this and I wrote this tutorial over the course of several months as I had time (and motivation), so if I am unclear on any steps, could add more information, etc. Please do not hesitate to ask for more information or provide suggestions! It will not offend me at all.
Code on Github: GitHub - snowysnowcones/Oxygen_Tutorial: This is a oxygen.jl tutorial for Julia users

Tutorial Start:

This tutorial makes use of the following packages:
Oxygen.jl
Html.jl

Written / tested with Julia version 1.9.3

This tutorial covers creating a basic API with Oxygen, writing a Docker file, deploying on Azure, then testing with Postman. I don’t really go too much into detail on the code itself or all the intricacies of Docker, this is a little more “bare bones” just designed to get one’s feet wet.

Prerequisites:

Let’s get the basics out of the way. This tutorial assumes you have at least very basic understanding of Julia. For this tutorial you’ll need:

• The Julia Language installed
  • VSCode (with Julia extension and Docker extension)
  • A Docker Hub account
  • Docker Desktop installed
  • A Microsoft Azure account
  • Postman

We begin the tutorial by creating a new workspace / environment for our files to live. Create a new directory wherever you please, I created a folder in my GitHub library called “Oxygen_Tutorial”.