Turing.jl, differentiation & categorical outputs -- `isprobvec` conundrum

Hi all,

I met a strange bug, and, to be honest, I’m relatively new to the language, so it could be a mistake from my part.

So, I’m having a real blast playing with bayesian NNs, and I’m slowly building up from the basic example given on the Turing.jl website, while grabbing as much of an understanding of Julia inner working as I can. Now, I’m trying to extend the classification from being binary to multiclass. Thus, I defined the output of my BNN as a Categorical instead of a Binomial.

Logically enough, Categorical requires its samples to be probability vector positive and summing to one, i.e., from Distributions/src/utils.jl:

isprobvec(p::AbstractVector{<:Real}) =
    all(x -> x ≥ zero(x), p) && isapprox(sum(p), one(eltype(p)))

I convert the output of the last 3 neurons of my network to a probability vector with Flux.softmax, and, naturally, it’s not exactly 1.0 due to floating points shenanigans, but isapprox takes care of that.

The problem however, is that what works with floats doesn’t seem to work with TrackedReal (which are instrumental to AD):

xx = ReverseDiff.TrackedReal{Float64,Float64,ReverseDiff.TrackedArray{Float64,Float64,2,Array{Float64,2},Array{Float64,2}}}[TrackedReal<4WI>(0.42766067643153494, 0.0, 3Wk, ---), TrackedReal<FB4>(0.1639909617549507, 0.0, 3Wk, ---), TrackedReal<49W>(0.4083483618135143, 0.0, 3Wk, ---)]
sum(xx) = TrackedReal<KQ5>(0.9999999999999999, 0.0, 3Wk, ---)
one(eltype(xx)) = TrackedReal<HSG>(1.0, 0.0, ---, ---)
isapprox(sum(xx), 1.0) = true
isapprox(sum(xx), one(eltype(xx))) = false
isprobvec(r[:, i]) = false