Turing.jl: Confusion about random variables and draws from distributions

Hi, I’m just starting out with probabilistic programming in general and Turing.jl specifically, so I am still in the process of wrapping my head around the logic of it.

I want to build a simple model where a yes/no response is modelled given some parameter that I’m interested in fitting. The idea is that a person might have a prior expectation for some parameter that’s then combined with the evidence coming in, leading to a decision. The evidence should have an uncertainty associated with it, and I want to know what uncertainty explains the behavior.

Here’s a basic program, but it doesn’t work yet because I think it tries to fit one b_guess value? That is just supposed to be an intermediary thing from combining the two distributions. as and bs are experimental variables.

model = @model function response_model(as, bs, responses)

# this is like a population wide hyperparameter
    σ²_a = 0.1
    # weak prior, this variable is the one of interest
    σ²_b ~ truncated(Normal(0, 100), 0, Inf)

for i in eachindex(as)
        a_dist = Normal(as[i], sqrt(σ²_a))
        b_dist = Normal(bs[i], sqrt(σ²_b))
        combined = combine_distributions(a_dist, b_dist)
        # here's the problem, I just need b_guess as an intermediate thing, I don't want to fit it
        b_guess ~ combined
        # the guess vs the real b value is fed into the logistic function
        p = logistic(b_guess - bs[i])
        # and then into the bernoulli distribution
        responses[i] ~ Bernoulli(p)
    end
end

function combine_distributions(n1::Normal, n2::Normal)
    t = 1 / n1.σ ^ 2
    u = 1 / n2.σ ^ 2
    m = n1.μ
    n = n2.μ
    Normal((t * m + u * n) / (t + u), sqrt(1 / (t + u)))
end