Trying to switch from sympy

Hi,

I’m pretty new to Julia, coming from Python. In the transition process I’m looking at the different symbolic math options in Julia, both SymEngine.jl, and SymPy.jl

I was wondering if there’s a way to lambdify a symbolic matrix using either of the two (or some other) packages. Something like (I tried doing this in SymPy.sj too):

using SymEngine

@vars x1 x2 x3 x4

x = [x1, x2, x3, x4]

A = [[x1 x2];[x3 x4]]

f1 = lambdify(A[1,1]) #works, but not really what I'm looking for

f2 = lambdify(x,A) #does not work
f3 = lambdify(A) #does not work

In python - sympy I can do (with equivalent setup):

f = lambdify(x,A)

I was hoping someone here may have an idea of what I’m doing wrong . . .

Thanks.

1 Like

lambdify.(A) if you want to apply it elementwise?

1 Like

What is lambdify(x,A) supposed to do?

That will give an array of functions though, instead of a function that produces an array. There’s an open issue on this topic (I’m guessing the same author).

It probably needs a function defined that internally lambdifys the array and then builds the return function. If there’s a more standard SymEngine answer, @isuruf would be the one who would know.

1 Like

Why do you even want to use sympy for this? can’t you just do:

f(x) = [[a b];[c d]]

Why not just do that if that’s the function you want. With my symbolic package Reduce.jl, there is no such thing as lambdify because it works directly on Julia abstract syntax trees. No need to overcomplicate things.

From my perspective, having separate types of symbolic variables and implementing a lambdify function are all superfluous, since one can just work with abstract syntax trees to manipulate and construct the expression one wants to get. So the way I see it the other symbolic packages way overcomplicate things that can be accomplished in a much simpler way using Julia’s language itself.

Since you do not appear to do any symbolic operations, you can just do this: