Translating Binomial N-mixture models from Jags

Hi there!

I’m new to Julia and Turing, but I’m trying to translate some ecological models by Kéry and Royle (2016) from JAGS to Turing. The specific model here is a Binomial N-mixture model (or a Poisson-Binomal mixture model). I have experimented with various samplers to deal with sampling discrete parameters, but unfortunately I can’t seem to find a way to obtain results close to those from the Jags implementation. The code for generating the data in Python and JAGS is as follows:

import pyjags
import numpy as np

n_sites = 150
n_surveys = 2
counts = np.zeros((n_sites, n_surveys))

expected_abundance = 2.5
p_detection = 0.4

# Production process
N = np.random.poisson(expected_abundance, size=n_sites)

# Observation process
for survey in range(n_surveys):
    counts[:, survey] = np.random.binomial(size=n_sites, n=N, p=p_detection)

code = """
model {
  lambda ~ dgamma(0.001, 0.001)
  p ~ dbeta(1, 1)

for (i in 1:M) {
    N[i] ~ dpois(lambda)
    for (j in 1:J) {
      C[i,j] ~ dbin(p, N[i])
    }
  }
}
"""

M, J = counts.shape
model = pyjags.Model(
    code=code, 
    data={"C": counts, "M": M, "J": J},
    init={"N": counts.max(1), "p": 0.5, "lambda": 1}
)

_ = model.sample(5000, thin=25, vars=['lambda', 'p'])
samples = model.sample(25000, thin=25, vars=['lambda', 'p'])

which produces the following estimates:

mean     sd  hdi_3%  hdi_97%  mcse_mean  mcse_sd  ess_mean  ess_sd  ess_bulk  ess_tail  r_hat
lambda  2.228  0.329   1.653    2.804      0.007    0.005    1978.0  1900.0    2221.0    2870.0    1.0
p       0.465  0.061   0.350    0.578      0.001    0.001    1916.0  1916.0    1992.0    2630.0    1.0

For Julia and Turing, I use the following lines of code:

using Random, Distributions, StatsBase, Turing

n_sites = 150
λ = 2.5

N = rand(Poisson(λ), n_sites)
p = 0.4
n_surveys = 2

C = Array{Int64, 2}(undef, n_sites, n_surveys)

for j = 1:n_surveys
    for i = 1:n_sites
        C[i, j] = rand(Binomial(N[i], p))