Training LSTM in MXNet.jl with differing input and output?

Sorry guys, I am new to this and don’t have good access to any courses or good books on the subject. My question could probably best be illustrated with a translator… the expected output would be quite different from the input( for example input as English and output being Nahuátl ). As far as I can tell that means that the training data should be two separate but correlated data sets. Unfortunately, it is not yet clear to me how I would set that up. Is there anyone that could help me in this respect?

I have run the MXNet.jl example ( and others ) and played around with it a bit but would like to continue advancing.

…By the way, if you have any recommendations of online sources that would help me further educate myself, I would be very appreciative as well.

The LSTM architecture in MXNet works well when you have a one-to-one alignment between input and output. For example, in a language model you’d take a single input token and try to predict the next token in the sequence.

For variable-length sequences (e.g. if you have a 10-token English sentence and a 15-token Nahuátl translation) you need to take a different approach. The standard is to use an encoder-decoder; one RNN (the encoder) reads the entire English sentence and spits out a fixed-length vector (presumably representing the content of the sentence in some way). Then another RNN (the decoder) takes that as input and produces a sequence of output tokens followed by a stop codon.

I think this paper introduced the idea and there’s a TensorFlow example as well. I don’t think we have an example in Julia yet but I hope to put one together soon.

3 Likes

Thank you for your reply MikeInnes. What I understood of that information seems logical. Now I have to be sure I understand the existing LSTM example well enough to modify and implement it.

So, at the risk of flaunting my ignorance…