Track progress of multiple threads

Hi,
I have the following code

function pb(i, k, lpad, LEN, PBSTR, PBWID,nb)
    perc = i/(LEN);
    lpad = floor(Int,perc * LEN);
    print("\r Processing data chunk ", k," of $nb : [",first(PBSTR,lpad),first(PBWID,LEN-lpad),"] ",trunc(Int,perc*100),"%");
    nothing
end

function progr(;nb::Int=3)
    LEN = 40
    PBSTR = '━'^LEN
    PBWID = ' '^LEN

print("\e[?25l")
    for k in 1:nb
        for i in 1:LEN
        sleep(0.01*nb)
        pb(i, k, lpad, LEN, PBSTR, PBWID, nb)
        end
        print("\n")
    end
    print("\e[?25h")
end

progr()

I would like to get the 3 progress bars to print progress at the time.
Each task would be running in its own thread.
I have tried to look at packages like ProgressMeter but was not able to figure out how I can do it. Please know that I am not a computer scientist and I am relatively new to Julia. I would like to understand how to do it and understand what is happening.
Thank you for your time.

I don’t have much first-hand experience with it myself, but I believe Term.jl would be a good fit for you. Especially look at its documentation regarding progress bars:

https://fedeclaudi.github.io/Term.jl/stable/adv/progressbars/

Adapting your example, it could look like this:

using Term.Progress

function progr(;nb::Int=3)
    LEN = 40

pbar = ProgressBar()
    jobs = [addjob!(pbar; N=LEN) for _ in 1:nb]

with(pbar) do
        for k in 1:nb
            for i in 1:LEN
                sleep(0.01*k)
                update!(jobs[k])
            end
        end
    end
end

progr()

Maybe @FedeClaudi will have more insight about this.

Thanks. Yes probably both Term.jl and ProgressMeter.jl do it. I wanted to understand how they achieve it because when I read the source code, I am just completely lost and don’t understand what is happening.

@gitboy16 we’ve been discussing this on GitHub. Is there in particular you’d like for me to explain about how Term achieves it?