Too many allocations for this couple of small functions

Hi there, newbie here

solved Project Euler #4 problem with Julia and, althogh the timing is good, I got too many allocations (around 100k) for such a small program.
I’ve tried with explicit types in the variables and didn’t get any improvements, so obviously I’m doing something wrong.

Here is the code

> function ispalindrome(n)
>     for i in zip(digits(n), reverse!(digits(n)))
>         if i[1] ≠ i[end]
>             return false
>         end
>     end
>     return true
> end
> 
> 
> function Problem4()
>     #=
>     A palindromic number reads the same both ways. The largest palindrome made
>     from the product of two 2-digit numbers is 9009 = 91 x 99.
> 
>     Find the largest palindrome made from the product of two 3-digit numbers. 
>     =#
> 
>     ans = 10_001
>     for i = 100:999, j = i:999
>         if (i*j > ans) && ispalindrome(i*j)
>             ans = i*j
>         end
>     end
>     return ans
> 
> end
>
> @btime Problem4()
> println("Result: ", Problem4())

The digits function creates an array each time you call it. That storage space requires the expensive allocation.

And you perform it twice for each n, which is an additional expense.

I would suggest:

1. If you create such an array, create it only once and use something like digit_array[index] != digit_array[end+1-index] when traversing it.
  2. Try to not even create the array, rather make your own “get_nth_digit” function that uses modulo division and remainders.