Timeseries Optimization : Reducing allocations

Hello everyone!

I was working on a project and wanted to start reformatting the code to make it faster. As part of this process I am working on reducing the amount of allocations as much as possible. Currently I have a function that takes in a vector and another function, myfunc. Then inside a for loop I call myfunc on a subset of the input vector. After playing around with benchmark tools I noticed that allocations are being made when calling myfunc and inside myfunc. My is structured as follows,

function eval(timeseries::Vector{Float64}, myfunc)
    for i in 1:length(timeseries)
        alpha = myfunc(timeseries[1:i])
    end
end

I tried running it using myfunc = rand(1)[1] and was surprised by how many allocations were made. I guessing there is no way to reduce the myfunc random integer allocations, but maybe there is a way to reduce the allocations from myfunc(timeseries[1:i]). I’m new to this whole optimization stuff, so maybe what I’m trying to do is simply impossible.

Anyway, thank you for taking the time to read this! Any feedback about optimization tips or how I might restructure my code would be greatly appreciated!

If the allocations are in myfunc you’d need to post some code for folks to try to figure out whats happening.

Yeah for sure. I was testing out with myfunc equal to random(timeseries) = rand(1)[1]. In the future i would like to replace myfunc with some arbitrary function so I was wondering if there was a better way to re-write my code to avoid the allocations from myfunc(timeseries[1:i])

This statement allocates a copy of that subset of timeseries, which explains at least some of your allocation issues. Try @view timeseries[1:i] to create a lightweight view instead, and see Performance Tips · The Julia Language for more info.

4 Likes

Here are two things to keep in mind when indexing (since Julia 1.5) and looping: