Time cost for using structs

I am trying to better understand the performance implications of using mutable structs. My actual use case is similar to the Optim package of storing a state variable that will change every iteration (such as https://github.com/JuliaNLSolvers/Optim.jl/blob/master/src/multivariate/solvers/first_order/cg.jl).

My concern is that accessing variables in a structure is more expensive than if those variables were direct inputs to a function. I am still learning the details of @btime, so the code below shows options with and without interpolating the variables and with the referencing and dereferencing trick from the BenchmarkTools documentation (GitHub - JuliaCI/BenchmarkTools.jl: A benchmarking framework for the Julia language).

MWE of a mix of functions with typed vs. non-typed inputs and the inputs being structs or direct variables.

using BenchmarkTools

mutable struct mystruct
	myint::Int
	mysym::Symbol
end
mutable struct mystruct_nottyped
	myint
	mysym
end

s = mystruct(1, :randomsymbol)
s_nottyped = mystruct_nottyped(1, :randomsymbol)

function accessfromstruct(s::mystruct)
	res = 0	  # this should allocate an int 
	for _ = 1:100 # force the function to take longer
		if s.mysym == :randomsymbol # testing reading a field in the structure 
			res += 1
			s.myint += res # testing setting a field in the structure 
		end
	end
	return res, s 
end
function accessfromstruct_nottyped(s) # same as above, but input to function is not typed
	res = 0
	for _ = 1:100
		if s.mysym == :randomsymbol
			res += 1
			s.myint += res
		end
	end
	return res, s
end
accessfromstruct(s) # precompile 
accessfromstruct_nottyped(s); accessfromstruct_nottyped(s_nottyped)

@btime accessfromstruct(s) 								# 143 ns, 0 bytes
@btime accessfromstruct_nottyped(s)						#  54 ns, 16 bytes
@btime accessfromstruct_nottyped(s_nottyped)			# 2.8 us, 1.6 KB 
# it makes sense the last one is the worst since nothing is typed 
# but why is the second faster than the first?