Think Julia Exercise 10.1

Hey,
I am fairly new to Julia and coding. Thus, i still struggle on a lot of things in Julia.
I am trying to solve the exercise 10.1 and would like some help on this, at least where to start.

*Write a function called nestedsum that takes an array of arrays of integers and adds up the elements from all of the nested arrays. For example : *
julia> t = [[1, 2], [3], [4, 5, 6]];

julia> nestedsum(t)

4 Likes

Start here:

https://docs.julialang.org/en/v1/manual/control-flow/#man-loops

2 Likes

Well, the first question to ask yourself is which approach you would like to take. There are at least three different possible approaches:

• Use a for loop
  • Use broadcasting (dot syntax)
  • Use the map function
2 Likes
sum(vcat(t...))
1 Like

A solution using mapreduce looks pretty appealing as well! There is also the option of "flatten"ing the array.

1 Like

Nobody should start Julia with this, for two reasons: 1) It is just using some functions without understanding what they do. 2) It is much slower than a simple implementation using loops:

julia> @btime sum(vcat($t...))
  66.714 ns (1 allocation: 128 bytes)

julia> @btime nestedsum($t)
  6.242 ns (0 allocations: 0 bytes)

5 Likes
sum(sum.(t))
1 Like
julia> @btime sum(sum.($t))
  31.337 ns (1 allocation: 112 bytes)

Not yet :slight_smile:

1 Like

Another possible solution: Look at this method of the sum function:

sum(f, itr)

Sum the results of calling function f on each element of itr.

Examples
  ≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡

julia> sum(abs2, [2; 3; 4])

1 Like

@rafael.guerra I think the OP is asking for help in approaching a Julia programming problem as a learning exercise. So it’s better if we provide guidance without directly providing the answer.

7 Likes

Just to add to this, recursion and multiple dispatch is a really nice way to handle things like this (though rarely the most performant).

E.g. to demonstrate a related example, lets find the largest element of an arbitrarily nested set of arrays: