The Future We Simulate is the One We Create

“the smartest minds can and must create the best code that has ever been written to actually solve the grand challenge problems”

Well - that is Julia then isn’t it?

The Future We Simulate Is The One We Create - The Next Platform

The article presents various important projects (curing cancer, nuclear fusion) as computational problems. But they aren’t purely — you still need the test tubes, the experiments, the engineering.

I am not an expert, but I am not entirely sure that out of an extra $1000 invested in research about these problems, all should be spent on whateverscale computation.

6 Likes

@Tamas_Papp Good point. Looking at the announcement of new battery materials found using AI, that is fascinating. But the “goodness” parameter of what makes a good battery must be basic science.

1 Like

Also in that article the authors call for sub-kilometre weather forecasts. Any experts here care to comment? The physical geography can be used in models at a small scale - but does the sensor (temperature, wind speed etc) data have to be collected at a smaller scale for the forecast to be good?
As an aside, the Swiss weather forecast is at a small scale - lots of mountains!

I suppose it shouldn’t be surprising that an opinion piece in a publication focused on HPC applications would frame HPC as the cornerstone of all future technological development.

I’m super down for optimistic future-oriented reads, but I don’t think this one makes a very strong case for why we should be investing in HPC. Paring down the hyperbole and focusing purely on the assertions for what the author believes HPC could be used to accomplish: