The 2048 challenge: fastest ways to simulate games of 2048 in Julia

I am sure many of you have played the game 2048. I have been writing a simulation engine for 2048 in Julia which I hope to eventually contribute back to a package like Reinforce.jl as an environment. If you enjoy programming, this could be something fun for an afternoon especially with Christmas coming up in about 2 months time.

Here is the challenge: Simulate games of 2048 by random play as efficiently as possible? Here are the requirements for the challenge:

• It must return the the initial state and a sequence of steps that lead to the final state so the simulation can be “replayed”. So it won’t work to just simulate the game and throw away all the intermediate steps.
  • Input and output formats are entirely up you

Here is my entry. On a $14 Juliabox subscripton I get the below timings using @btime

122.599 ÎĽs (705 allocations: 448.83 KiB)

I have only made one optimisation which is to store the entries as 0,1,2,3… instead of [0, 2, 4, 8, 16,…] so that I can use Int8 as entries to store the 16*16 game grid.

Feel free to make a PR if you like so all the code can be stored in one place and tested on Juliabox.com
GitHub - xiaodaigh/Game2048.jl: GUIs for playing the game 2048 in Julia

Edit:

BTW this is the fastest 2048 implementation I can find on the internet which is a C++ solution logic - What is the optimal algorithm for the game 2048? - Stack Overflow. It claims to be able to perform

over 10,000,000 game states per second on one core of my mid-2011 laptop

So I wonder if the same speed is possible in Julia. My implementation is orders of magnitude slower. Perhaps you can see this as a community effort to try and get the best possible solution in Julia and see how close we can get to the best known C++ implementation.

1 Like