Test-oriented development, Julia, and me

Like many users of Julia, I’m an engineer who mostly uses it to write one-off
scripts and do ad-hoc calculations. But I’ve also started to try to wrap up
some of my more commonly-used functionality into packages for re-use and finding
out: I have no idea how to write proper tests.

The two big questions I can’t seem to figure out are:

1. How big of pieces of functionality count as a unit and should have tests
    written for them?
  2. How do you structure a package so that it’s easily testable? I find this
    especially difficult since some of the packages I’m writing wrap
    functionality from other sources, and I don’t really want to test that the
    external dependency is working as expected nor require installation of the
    external dependency for execution of tests.

Any advice? Or maybe a good tutorial on testing that’s language-agnostic enough
to be applicable to Julia?

4 Likes

You learn these by doing, it is difficult to give general advice. There are books on the topic, but the best teacher is experience, along the lines of “if I tested that I would have saved two days of debugging”. That said,

1. you can (and should) test small pieces when it makes sense,

2. break up things into small functions, which is good style anyway, and the compiler likes it too, so it is an overall win.

3. you don’t need to test functions from other packages. If you find something lacking coverage, just make a PR for that package.

3 Likes

To be more clear, I’m specifically talking about wrapping non-Julia stuff in
point 2. For example, this weekend I hacked together a lightweight wrapper for
taskwarrior. Most of the top-level functions
eventually call a function that calls taskwarrior. How do I structure the
library so that I can test that kind of stuff without actually calling the
task binary?