Tensor contractions very inefficient in julia

I am new to julia (just few days) and I want to shift from python to julia by rewriting my DMRG code in julia. For Tensor contractions in python I was using np.tensordot, I searched for equivalent packages in julia and tried NCon, NDTensors etc. Unfortunately all of them are several orders of magnitude slower than np.tensordot. While it is true that the loops and function executions are faster in julia compared to python, In a tensor network code the tensor contractions are the one that dominates other operations. I was wondering if there are anyone here implementing tensor network algorithms in julia and what pakage they use for efficient tensor contractions.

Have you tried out Tullio? GitHub - mcabbott/Tullio.jl: â…€ It has tensor contractions that often rival BLAS speed.

5 Likes

Not yet, Actually I started contractions just this morning and all day I have been frustrated and thinking of going back to python. I will check your suggestion. Thank you very much.

“Several orders of magnitude” sounds like you might be doing something wrong. If you post a minimal working benchmark of interest to you, it will be easier to help you.

7 Likes

for example executing this code:

using TensorOperations
A = rand(2,3,4)
B = rand(5,3,6)
@time @tensor C[a1,a3,b1,b3] := A[a1,a2,a3]*B[b1,a2,b3]

gives us
4.724015 seconds (26.08 M allocations: 1.252 GiB, 9.18% gc time)

where as the python equivalent is:

import numpy as np
import time

s = time.perf_counter()
A = np.random.rand(2,3,4)
B = np.random.rand(5,3,6)
C = np.tensordot(A,B, axes = [1,1])
f = time.perf_counter()
print('time taken = ',f-s)

which yields

time taken = 0.02150451199850067

The package TensorOperations seems to be widely used in physics community and was suggested to my in a recent winter school. Other packages like NCon and NDTensors also give similar results.