Target Variable is a Deterministic Function of Random Variables

Crossposting this from “New to Julia” as I received no responses.

Hi, I am new to Julia and struggling to formulate my model correctly. My model consists of:

• A regressor x_t
  • An intermediate variable y_t = k * x_t + ϵ , ϵ ~ Normal(0, σ)

And finally a target variable z that is a function of y_t and its lags:

• z_t = λ * y_t + λ^2 * y_(t-1) + λ^3 * y_(t-2) + …, λ ~ Uniform(0, 1)

The variables of interest are k, σ and λ.

My issue is that I am unable to tell Julia that z_t is distributed as above, because by the time I get to defining it, the terms are numbers instead of distributions.

It might be possible to re-parametrize and define z_t as a normally distributed variable with mean equal to z_t above, and some variance that is a function of σ and λ. However I’m not willing to attempt to find this function because I’m sure there is a better way.

Below is a version of my code that produces semi-reasonable code, using 4 lags. I’ve attempted to use Distributions.convolute() multiple times to combine distributions, but I’m not sure how correct this is, and again I’m sure there is a better way.

using Turing, StatsPlots, Random
Random.seed!(123)

function lag_transform(λ, y)
    # apply the lag transformation to y
    y_type = promote_type(eltype(λ), eltype(y))
    z = zeros(y_type, 0)

for i in 1:length(y)
        powers = reverse([λ ^ k for k in range(1, stop=i)])

previous_terms = zeros(y_type, 0)
        for j in 1:i
            append!(previous_terms, y[j] * powers[j])
        end

current_z_val = sum(previous_terms)
        append!(z, current_z_val)
    end
    return z
end

# generate some test data
n_samples = 200
σ = 0.5
k = 2.3
λ = 0.7

x = 1:n_samples
y = [x_val * k + rand(Normal(0, σ)) for x_val in x]
z = lag_transform(λ, y)

@model function model_func(x, z)
    k ~ Uniform(0.5, 3)
    λ ~ Uniform(0.4, 1)
    σ ~ truncated(Normal(0, 1), 0, Inf)