Symbolic matrix exponential

Hello All! I am fairly new to Julia.

I want to find the matrix exponential of a symbolic matrix. How to do this?
When I use the Symbolics and LinearAlgebra packages together, it doesn’t work:

using Symbolics
using LinearAlgebra

function run()
@variables a b c t
M = [ -a b 0
     1 c -a
     0 1 0]
Mt = M*t
expMt = exp(Mt)
print(expMt[1,1])
end

@time run()

Any help will be very appreciated!

Open an issue on Symbolics.jl. This isn’t implemented, and I’m not convinced there is a general symbolic solution that can be given on this operation. It’s worth a dev discussion.

1 Like

Okay. I did that. I hope this gets implemented. Thanks.

I’m not convinced it’s possible in general :sweat_smile: .

I just took a look and saw SymPy can only do it if the Jordan normal form exists for A. That’s probably a fine enough restriction.

1 Like

Wolfram Alpha is able ot spit out a result.
https://www.wolframalpha.com/input?i2d=true&i=matrix+exponential+%7B%7B-a%2Cb%2C0%7D%2C%7B1%2Cc%2C-a%7D%2C%7B0%2C1%2C0%7D%7D

I can’t say if it’s correct. It looks hideous - but I think that’s to be expected.

The Jordan form exists for all matrices. The only question is if it can be computed symbolically; this might require giving a name to solutions of polynomials of degree 5+ and work with them. Can Symbolics.jl do it?

1 Like

That makes sense.

Do you think Wolfram Alpha is spitting out the right results then? I was confused as to what “omega” meant in my screenshot of Wolfram Alpha - and in light of your comment, I suspect it’s a solution to some >5 degree polynomial.