Suggestions for performance enhancement in LightGraphs `diffusion`?

I’m running into performance bottlenecks running a diffusion model I put into LightGraphs.jl (code here and was wondering if anyone might have any suggestions. (p.s. I’m not entirely clear if this belong here or stack overflow – please let me know if I’m in the wrong place!). In my research application, I’m running this on networks of about 10_000_000 nodes thousands of times, so performance really matters.

Profiling the code, I find 70% of run time is generally in Line 57:

union!(new_infections, randsubseq(outn, local_p))

Which may mean there’s nothing to improve on. But I’m not yet fully comfortable working with @code_warntype, so it strikes me that maybe I’m missing something? It’s relatively clean, but is popping up some read. I think think any of that red matters, but like I said, I’m new to this, and have spent a week trying to find improvements, so would love to know if I just need to parallelize more, or if I’m missing something.

You can get the relevant @code_warntype with:

Pkg.add("LightGraphs")
using LightGraphs
g = erdos_renyi(1_000, 5_000, seed=42)
@code_warntype diffusion(g, 0.6, 100, normalize=true, watch=collect(300:700), initial_infections=[400])

Or read:

julia> @code_warntype diffusion(g, 0.6, 100, normalize=true, watch=collect(300:700),
       initial_infections=[400])
Variables:
  #unused#::LightGraphs.#kw##diffusion
  #temp#@_2::Array{Any,1}
  ::LightGraphs.#diffusion
  g::LightGraphs.SimpleGraphs.SimpleGraph{Int64}
  p::Float64
  n::Int64
  #temp#@_7::Int64
  #temp#@_8::Int64
  #temp#@_9::Any
  #temp#@_10::Int64
  watch::AbstractArray{T,1} where T
  initial_infections::AbstractArray{T,1} where T
  normalize::Bool
  #temp#@_14::Bool
  #temp#@_15::Bool

Body:
  begin 
      NewvarNode(:(watch::AbstractArray{T,1} where T))
      NewvarNode(:(initial_infections::AbstractArray{T,1} where T))
      #temp#@_14::Bool = true
      #temp#@_15::Bool = true