Stochastic diff eq driven by 1/f noise

Hi all, I’m new to DifferentialEquations.jl and looking for tips on how model a stochastic process driven by noise that has a 1/f spectrum. Admittedly, this question might be not only on how to use the Julia stochastic differential equations solvers, but also a more general question on how to model 1/f noise in a stochastic diff eq. More precisely, if we have a stochastic diff eq

d u(t) / dt = f(u, t) + g(u, t) xi(t),

with xi(t) the noise term, then xi(t) should have a spectrum S(f) ~ 1/f.

After reading the section on Noise Processes in the DifferentialEquations.jl docs, one possible way seems to be that I generate a discrete grid of sampled points of xi(t_j) and use the NoiseGrid type. I suppose then I should choose the step size of the solver to coincide with my grid? However I wonder if there is a better way. As 1/f noise is so common in physics and engineering I figured there might be someone out there that has already done this and has a good example on hand (using a pre-sampled grid of points or otherwise). Thanks in advance.

1/f noise obviously has issues near DC, f=0 what do you want the spectrum to look like exactly.

Yeah right, good point. I will assume a low-frequency cutoff at f_ir. The physical experiment should ultimately be insensitive to the precise shape below this cutoff, so it should be fine to take it e.g. to be a hard cutoff with S(f) = 0 of S(f) = const. for f < f_ir. If the hard cutoff is harder to model and there is some other analytical form that makes the modeling easier I’m fine with that too.

Just define an SDE for 1/f noise and then use that as the process in another part of the system.

Thanks Chris. That sounds like an elegant way to do it.