State of Plotting Packages as of 2018/12/15

Question: Which plotting package seems to have brightest future when it comes to engineering application?
Using Atom/Juno, Julia 1.0.2, Windows 10.

Background and comments: I am working on a PhD in electrical engineering and am evaluating Julia as a possible computational platform for my research in power systems. I like what I am seeing so far. One area I struggle with is plotting packages. I need the following functionality: line plots, 2D/3D scatter, 2D/3D FEM meshes, contour plots, surface plots, GUI window, and animations. So far I have used Plots, GR, and Makie. One of the most important things for me is documentation that includes a lot of code examples I can quickly duplicate and tinker with. I am not experienced enough with any platform to write code from scratch so the completed examples are critical. A couple of observations from limited experience and review of various threads on GitHub and Julia:

1. Plots: seems the most versatile and stable, documentation was pretty good, but I still struggled to find a good set of example code for all the types of plots I want to make. I get a sense from the threads that development may slow down in favor of Makie?

2. GR: nice simplicity and speed, but again I struggle to find a good set of example code (maybe I just don’t know where to look). Found a few examples on Josef Heinen’s GitHub page, but it seems like it is capable of a lot more that what I could find examples for.

3. Makie: Development seems a bit more active. Documentation is good, lots of example code. However, I find this package very slow on my machine (Julia 1.02, Windows 10, Atom/Juno IDE). I see there is an option for precompiling, but it warns about possibly causing problems with the Julia installation and as a novice I don’t want to risk messing things up