Split-Apply-Combine in arrays

Hello (first post on this forum)! I am new to Julia, transitioning from R. I am trying to implement a split-apply-combine strategy on a matrix without converting it into a DataFrame (reason: I need to do this operation for each iteration of a Monte Carlo, and I need to switch between arrays and their sparse matrix representation, hence I want to minimize type conversion, not sure if this makes sense).

The split-apply-combine would work as follows: take a matrix of three columns, split it by unique combinations of the values in the first two columns (which together, define the groups), and then add a fourth column that equals one if a value in the third column is the maximum in the corresponding group. Here is the comprehension I am working on: the dimension of the array A has approximately the same size as the examples from my data.

julia> using SplitApplyCombine, Random

julia> a, b = [150, 1000] # These can be made smaller for testing purposes

julia> A = hcat(repeat(1:a, outer = b), repeat(1:a, inner = b), randn(a*b))
150000×3 Matrix{Float64}:
   1.0    1.0  -0.837408
   2.0    1.0   0.793393
   3.0    1.0   0.297672
   4.0    1.0  -0.142228
   5.0    1.0   0.606502
   6.0    1.0   0.573417
   ⋮
 145.0  150.0  -0.474295
 146.0  150.0   0.816623
 147.0  150.0  -2.17863
 148.0  150.0   0.455542
 149.0  150.0  -0.868958
 150.0  150.0   0.519702

julia> A = [argmax(J[findall(J[:, 1] .== b[1] .&& J[:, 2] .== b[2]), 3]) for b ∈ unique(splitdims(A[:, [1,2]], 1))]

The idea is to then use the “argmax” indices to then construct the binary column that I want. However, the last line takes about one minute on my laptop, which I take as an indication that I am doing something wrong as Julia is not supposed to be this slow for a loop on a relatively low dimension. Also I think my syntax is overly intricate, another indication that something is wrong.