Iterative, looping split-apply-combines in Julia

I am new to Julia (and the forum - apologies on my formatting!) and struggling to implement complex split-apply-combine functions, in particular when these involve iterative looping across columns. I could really use some help to develop an approach that, applied to different slices of the data, iteratively constructs pair-wise operations across multiple columns. I’ll give an example below that might seem solvable with brute force / manual approaches, but in reality this will be applied to a large array and so an automated/iterative solution is very much needed.

As an example, consider these data:

test=DataFrame(x1=rand(1000), x2=rand(1000), x3=rand(1000), x4=rand(1000))
test.subject=β€œa”
test[501:1000,5]=β€œb”

This yields 4 columns of data for two subjects (a, and b), each with 500 rows. I found that the by, combine, and map functions allow a nice solution to apply any given function to any given column by each slice (subject) - but, I’m trying to create a function that iterates across columns simultaneously.

Say for example that the goal is to compute some measure - difference between variable X1 and variable X2, and likewise X1 vs. X3, and X1 vs X4 - and, likewise, will want to do the same for X2 vs X1, and X2 vs, X3 and X2 vs X4 - every possible combination of pairwise differences, while avoiding duplication.

So the pseudocode would be something like:
function dostuff(x,y)
new_var=x-y
end
result=combine(df->dostuff(df.X1, df.X2), groupby(test, [:subject])