SpecialFunctions.jl Successor

Currently, the definitive Julia package for special functions is SpecialFunctions.jl, but it’s now being signalled that PRs adding functionality to it should be taken elsewhere because the package is mostly just for wrapping openspecfun.

https://github.com/JuliaMath/SpecialFunctions.jl/pull/175#issuecomment-596153460

https://github.com/JuliaMath/SpecialFunctions.jl/pull/196#issuecomment-596153275

Is anyone in the community interested in collaborating on a successor to SpecialFunctions.jl? To start, it could depend on SpecialFunctions.jl for a lot of functionality, but it’d be nice for it to eventually be pure-julia. I’m no expert on this sort of stuff, but I do have a copy of Numerical Recipes lying around. I’d be hesitant to go forward with this if we can’t find at least one collaborator who feels familiar with the implementation of special functions and has a good feel for numerical analysis.

What would such a successor package be called? I guess one possible path would be to move the openspecfun stuff out into a new repo called OpenSpecFunctions.jl, and keep the pure julia stuff in SpecialFunctions.jl and then get new maintainers in working on SpecialFunctions.jl, but this would require a lot of coordination and consent from the current maintainers.

Or it could be called something boring like SpecialFunctions2.jl.

5 Likes

I would personally really like efforts to be directed towards SIMD implementations of special functions.
Optimal SIMD and serial definitions are likely to be different, as the former ought to be branch-free.

2 Likes

A SimdSpecialFunctions.jl would indeed be quite nice. But in many ways, I see it as a higher priority that we at least have a package where serial special functions can live given that SpecialFunctions.jl appears to not be accepting any PRs anymore. There’s a bunch of work just sitting in the SpecialFunctions.jl PR queue just waiting to bit-rot.