Sorting nested dictionary

Hii there,

I’m new to the world of Julia (I’m mostly a web dev) so please be patient :slight_smile:
Let’s talk about my issue shall we?

I have a dictionary, which in terms contain dictionaries as well:

servers = Dict(
    "1" => Dict(
        "votes" => 0,
        "age" => 1
    ),
    "2" => Dict(
        "votes" => 0,
        "age" => 0
    ), 
    "3" => Dict(
        "votes" => 1,
        "age" => 0
    ),
    "4" => Dict(
        "votes" => 0,
        "age" => 1
    ),
    "5" => Dict(
        "votes" => 1
        "age" => 1
    )
);

I need to sort this dictionary according to a few rules:
It needs to be sorted in this order: votes (desc) → age (desc) → key (asc)
So in this case I would get the following:

1. both 3 and 5 have 1 vote (the rest has none), however, 5 has a higher age so it goes first, followed by 3.
  2. 1, 2 and 4 have 0 votes but 1 and 4 both have an age of 1. since 1 is lower than 4, 1 goes first, then goes 4 and then goes 2.

I hope this makes any sense?
So my question here is, how would I write something like this in Julia?

Cheers!

Hi there,
it would probably be helpful if you could tell us a bit more about what exactly your application is, so we can help you a bit better. I’m not entirely sure a Dict is the best fit here. Are you sure you want to index the outer dict with strings and don’t want an array instead? For the inner dict you also might want to have a look at the documentation for structs. This would also mean you could implement your own rules for ordering for this specific type.

Is something like this what you had in mind?

struct Server
    votes::Int
end

function Base.isless(a::Server, b::Server)
    if a.votes == b.votes
        return a.age < b.age
    else
        return a.votes < b.votes
    end
end

servers = [ Server(0, 1), Server(0, 0), Server(1, 0), Server(1, 1) ]