Some beginners questions

Hello i’m new to Julia. I have a couple of questions.

1. Is there a command to start a new project like cargo init (rust). So that it generates some files (Project.toml maybe?). If there is no such command maybe there is a template/skeleton i can use

2. I would like to do logistic regression. In python there are a few packages that are often discussed and the go-to packages for most situations like pandas and scikit. Are there also such packages in julia? I’m not sure what i should be using.

Thanks for the help :slight_smile:

1 Like

Welcome!

1. Latest Version of “How to create packages”
  2. Maybe you find something here:
    Anyone developing multinomial logistic regression?

Its recommended (even by the latest version of the Pkg docs) to use PkgTemplates to create your new project, rather than the minimal built in pkg> generate command.
Because that will setup all the good things like the files required for CI and docs for you.

4 Likes

Edited 1.

From GitHub - JuliaCI/PkgTemplates.jl: Create new Julia packages, the easy way

NOTICE: This version is not yet released

The current stable release is 0.6, you can find that version here.
PkgTemplates has undergone large internal changes (see #61 especially), and at present the user-facing API is still catching up.
Do not fear, while right now it looks very different (e.g. in the dev docs), it will not be incredibly breaking. But right now if you do use master it will be.

I am not sure if this should be a first step for a newcomer.
Anyways he/she can now decide on his/her own.

There is also

which is considerably simpler (and of course not as flexible).

Note that I linked to: https://github.com/invenia/PkgTemplates.jl/tree/v0.6.3
the tagged release v0.6.3.
For exactly that reason. :slight_smile:

1 Like