Small benchmark

I’m new to Julia, and was curious to test its famed performance, so today I made a small benchmark comparing it to C, optimized Python and Scala. Some pretty interesting results, with Julia falling a mere 3% behind the best C implementation of the code. I’m impressed!

My test was just calculating the exponential function using the same method found in glibc (“math.h”). Key to achieving the highest speeds was using @fastmath, but interestingly the C was pretty bad without that, I don’t know what optimizations I can be missing there. I’m still writing a blog about it (usually I write too much) but I would like to share the code and results in the forum right away. Any opinions and comments are appreciated.

9 Likes

I have already published the results from this experiment in a blog

9 Likes

Nice article! Some feedback on your benchmark:

• You’re including a call to the built-in exp function in the timing, which presumably can vary a bit in performance between the different languages. Is that intentional? I think it’d be more interesting to just benchmark the myexp code.
  • You’re dividing by n for each iteration, which is quite slow. At least in Julia, you can save some time by instead multiplying by a pre-calculated 1/n. That could explain some of the anomalies you’re seeing with Scala, since the code looks a bit different there (you have 0.6/n instead of i/n, so perhaps the compiler is clever enough to do this optimization for you?).
  • How many times did you run this to produce the benchmark numbers? When I run your script over and over again, timings vary by a few percent between runs. So if you’re interested in performance differences as small as 3 %, you should probably run your experiment many times to ensure that the results are statistically sound. Perhaps you accounted for this already.
1 Like