Slow gzip streaming in julia but not in python

Hi there,

I am new to Julia, and come to Julia for performance with fewer codes. I have been using R, and encountered a simple task: read from a gziped file and do something to each line. It was slow in R, of course. So I went to Perl first. Here is the code:

perl -e '
open( DATA, "zcat ~/in2/swxx/sj/db/ncbi/gene/gene2accession.gz|");
while( <DATA>) {
  @F = split( /\t/);
}
close( DATA);'

I found the gzip command was using about 48% CPU of a thread. Then I came to Julia, and here is the code:

function fun1( file1)
    for line1 in eachline( `zcat $( expanduser( file1))`)
        F = split( line1, '\t')
    end
end
fun1( "~/in2/swxx/sj/db/ncbi/gene/gene2accession.gz")

And I fount that the gzip command was also using about 48% CPU. Then I came to Python, and here is the code:

import subprocess
with subprocess.Popen( "zcat ~/in2/swxx/sj/db/ncbi/gene/gene2accession.gz", shell = True, stdout = subprocess.PIPE) as gz:
    for line1 in gz.stdout:
        F = line1.split( b'\t')

Now, the gzip is using nearly 100% CPU, and so is Python.

I have not recoreded times spent by these 3 approaches. But I can feel that the python code is obviously faster than the other two.

How come?

How does the timed performance compare?

I’m not sure it will make much difference in this case, but it is generally bad for performance to refer to non-const global variables inside a function.

Also, I would recommend using CodecZlib.jl over shell commands.

I will later record the times spent. But I have the impression that the python code is obviously faster than the other two.

For the julia code, there is only one global variable, which was not used repeatedly. So I guess it would not affect the performance much.

The issue with non const global variables is in how they affect type inference. Basically it and every value derived from that are a type which cannot be known at compile time which results in slower code.