Slow generation of the non-linear expressions

Hi there,

I am new to JuMP and trying to use it for maximum likelihood estimation. I found a very slow step when generating the expressions, and I am not sure how to improve it. Here is the code for a minimum working example:

M: number of locations; 20M
N: number of obs; 25M
X: data; 25M*100
θ: # our parameters, dimension is (100,1)

model = Model() #generating the model
@variable(model, θ[i=1:100], start=θ_0[i]) 
@expressions(model, util = X*θ)
@NLexpressions(model,
                begin
                        num[i=1:length(util)], exp(util[i])
                        num_sum[j=1:M], sum(num[findall(location.==j)][i] for i = 1:length(num[findall(location.==j)])) #this is the very slow step; I need to find all the observations that are in this location, j, and sum over all the num expressions
                        denom[j=1:M], 1+num_sum[j]
                end
        )

I tried multithreading but could not make it work (I am not sure if JuMP supports multithreading). Also, I tried to indirectly index the observations in a given location num_sum[j=1:M], sum(num[location.starting[j]:location.ending[j]][i] for i=1:length((num[location.starting[j]:location.ending[j]])), where location.starting and location.ending store the starting the ending indices for the starting and ending observations for a given location j. This actually slowed down the code. I was wondering if anyone has suggestions on how to improve the performance. Thanks!

Welcome! It’s more helpful if you can provide a fully reproducible example that someone can copy-paste to see what the problem is. But if I’ve understood your question correctly, I think you’re looking for something like this (I haven’t run, so there might be typos etc):

M = 20
N = 25
X = rand(N, 100)
locations = rand(1:M, N)
location_lookup = [Int[] for j in 1:M]
for (i, j) in enumerate(locations)
    push!(locations_lookup[j], i)
end
model = Model()
@variable(model, θ[i=1:100])