Sizehint!, explanation of the naming?

I am new to Julia.

I am wondering why the function “sizehint!” is named so.

Many functions are named in a self-evident way. But I cannot make sense of it for “sizehint!”.

Could anyone give a hint?

2 Likes

Let me introduce you to the excellent help functionality of the REPL (that can be accessed typing a ? at the beginning of a line):

help?> sizehint!
search: sizehint!

sizehint!(s, n) -> s

Suggest that collection s reserve capacity for at least n elements. That is,
  if you expect that you're going to have to push a lot of values onto s, you
  can avoid the cost of incremental reallocation by doing it once up front;
  this can improve performance.

See also resize!.

Notes on the performance model
  ≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡

For types that support sizehint!,

1. push! and append! methods generally may (but are not required to)
       preallocate extra storage. For types implemented in Base, they
       typically do, using a heuristic optimized for a general use case.

2. sizehint! may control this preallocation. Again, it typically does
       this for types in Base.

3. empty! is nearly costless (and O(1)) for types that support this
       kind of preallocation.

I think this explanation reads rather well and is clear to me. If there are things left unclear for please ask :slight_smile:
To make things more explicit maybe: sizehint! provides a hint to the container about the maximal size needed. This hint may be ignored but can yield performance improvements if the container type can make use of it.

10 Likes

Note also that the convention in Julia (inherited from Scheme and Lisp) is that you put an exclamation mark ! at the end of the name of a function if it modifies (“mutates”) its arguments. See also the Punctuation section of the Julia manual.

Here, sizehint! ends with an exclamation mark because it modifies its array argument (to change the amount of storage allocated).

6 Likes