Simple macroeconomic model in DynamicalSystems.jl

Hi. I am very new to Julia.
I have a very simple macroeconomic model, which I managed to simulate and plot with numpy for Julia.
I tried to simulate it in DynamicalSystems.jl, but not all the equations are of the type: x[t] = f(x[t-1]). This is the model:
“”"
(1) y[t] = m * (a + G[t])
(2) c[t] = a + alpha * y[t-1]
(3) I[t] = beta * (y[t] - y[t-1])
“”"

Parameters: m = 1/(1-alpha), a = 50, alpha = 0.75, beta = 4, G = 100.
Steady state is y = 600.

My question: Is there a way to run such a model in DynamicalSystems? My problem is with equations 1 & 3.

Thanks in advance for your help.

1 Like

I think you will need to give the boundary/initial values to make the problem well formed.

If this is a macroeconomic/control problem then it probably has a transversality condition, which is a very particular type of boundary condition that probably isn’t handled in that package. But I know that @Albert_Zevelev was trying to collect packages that could handle those

1 Like

Thanks very much for the reply.
It is not a control problem or a rbc kind of model; it is an old fashioned keynesian model, with no microfoundations.
You are right I am sorry that I forgot the initial conditions: zeros for y, c, I, while G=100.
But my problem is that DynamicalSystems.jl requires the equations to have the form y[t+1] = f(x[t]), but equations 1 and 3 have variables indexed [t+1] on both sides of the “equal” sign.
Thanks again.

1 Like

Cool, if it is an initial value problem it is a lot easier.

I am still having trouble seeing this as a dynamical system though. Unless G[t] is an exogenously given function? But if so then I think that you can substitute to get almost everything in closed form to simulate on one dimension and this package is overkill?