Should I backup my PhD research?

Specifically - should I back it up on an external HDD?

I am asking because I didn’t know where else to and I know lots of people here do scientific research like me. I am currently a PhD student and I have a large knowledgebase I’ve been building in the form of a repo. It also includes all the papers/confs we’ve submitted to and all my simulations (julia code) and results.

I’m wondering if I should safeguard that work by maintaining an up to date clone of the repo on an external HDD. But I’m not sure I need to because I have the repo in several places already including:

• My desktop
  • My laptop
  • My university HPC

Seems like I have redundancy covered but I wanted to check and see what others thought. At least one problem would be making sure these are all up to date clones. It would be nice to have a system that automatically git fetchs at midnight or something every night but I don’t know how common that is.

Hopefully someone has some advice on this to share.

1 Like

Create a private repo on github and gitlab (and bitbucket, and …).
Works for me…

2 Likes

Any data that is not proper for git (large data files) could be backed up in a (hopefully university-run) cloud service (next cloud, one drive, whatever the university has), for any git-repository I would also recommend to have (as exchange between those computer and remote backup) a private git repository, e.g. on GitHub/gitlab/bitbucket/… or on a university gitlab-server, if they have such.

That should not only be enough, but also be easier to handle than an external HDD (you forget it at home and then you do not backup,…).
Also if you push regularly (every evening when you stop working for example) there is no need for an automated way.

5 Likes

I like to keep a backup in the cloud as well.