Sharing a python dataframe in Julia

Hi there,
I have a small dataframe in a python script ( 300 rows each row probably about 1k). I am new to Julia so uncertain as to how to share the memory space between the python script and a julia program.

I was going to look at feather but wonder if there is a better way?

thank you

It’s unclear to me what exactly do you mean by: “share the memory space between the python script and a julia program.”. But if all you need is to load the data in Julia, I guess you can just save it to disk in some format in the python script and then load it from the Julia code?

If you say the dataframe is small I think saving it to csv, and then reading in Julia using CSV.jl could suffice (probably there are higher performance storage formats out there, but if you need to do this one time for a small dataframe it shouldn’t matter much).

I mean exactly “share the memory space” so I don’t want to save it to disk but thank you for your suggestion.
I would like to examine the creation and modification of the dataframe in python 3.+
then use something like feather to access it inside a julia program. At first just read it but later on see what the effectiveness is when I modify it in both programs. I would then move the julia code to a different machine to see what happens.

I see. So as I understand, you want to be able to read/write to the dataframe simultaneously from both python an Julia or something like this. Is this correct?

I’m not an expert on dataframes but from looking at Feather.jl docs it seems to me that feather is just a binary format to save data-frames to disk, so I am not sure how would it be conceptually different than saving to disk as csv (it might be of course faster, but you are still saving it to disk). Am I missing something?

1 Like

I haven’t used it, but I believe PyCall allows for no-copy/shared memory for basic types. See
https://github.com/JuliaPy/PyCall.jl/blob/master/README.md#arrays-and-pyarray