Saving outputs in CSV file

This is my first time to use CSV to save outputs and i’m working on a small example to get used to it but it look like i’m still having troubles in it, here is the working example:

using CSV 
using DataFrames
function mar(x,y)
    open("myfile.csv", "a")
    for i in 1:10
        global s=x*i+y

end

end

then when i input this:

x=2
y=4
mar(x,y)
CSV.write("myfile.csv",x=x,y=y,s=s)

(generic function with 1 method)
but when i try to read the file it shows me that the file is empty

CSV.read("myfile.csv")

0 rows × 0 columns

i don’t know what is the thing that i’m doing wrong in here.

I answered your question previously on StackOverflow here.

Your main issue here is that you missed out a pair of parentheses when copying my answer:

CSV.write("out.csv", (s = s, x = x, y = y)) 

is what I put on SO, while you have

CSV.write("out.csv", s = s, x = x, y = y) 

Note that in my answer, there are parentheses around s=s, x=x, y=y - this will construct a NamedTuple, which satisfies enough of the Tables.jl interface to be written out to csv by CSV.write.

There is an additional issue here compared to your SO post, which is that your x and y are scalars, while your s will be a vector. To construct the table you therefore need to decide what you want to put in the x and y columns. E.g. to repeat the x and y values in all rows you would do:

(s = s, x = fill(x, 10), y = fill(y, 10))

There are also a few unrelated issues in your code as well, which make me think that it’d be worthwhile for you to spend a day or two reading through the excellent Julia manual to get the hang of the language basics:

• You open the csv file in your mar function, but this actually isn’t necessary if you want to use CSV.write in the way I suggested;
  • You have a global annotation in your loop, which in the context of your posted snippet doesn’t make sense, as s is not defined anywhere outside your function.