Run external commands in parallel

I have a computation for which the time-consuming part boils down to calling an external program, in particular with read(cmd, String) in parallel for 1-5 values of cmd.

Should I just construct the commands, and use pmap(c -> read(c, String), cmds)?

(Sorry if this is an obvious question, I am not familiar with parallel language mechanisms, and got confused with threads, asyncmap, etc).

I am not an expert, but I usually use asyncmap for this and it works fine.

A simple loop would also work:

@sync begin
   for i in 1:10
       @async println(read(`echo $i`, String))
   end
end

The docs of ?asyncmap says

Note

Currently, all tasks in Julia are executed in a single OS thread co-operatively. Consequently, asyncmap is beneficial only when the mapping function involves any I/O - disk, network, remote worker invocation, etc.

and I am not sure it if applies here as I wait for the output. I will experiment.

It depends what the task cmd does: CPU - intensive → pmap, IO intensive → asyncmap. If the task uses a resource intensively i.e (disk/network at max throughput) it may be worthwhile running the commands in a serial fashion.

1 Like

Thanks, the task is CPU intensive, but running it on multiple cores (from the command line) results in large speed gains.

AFAICT this doc refers to native julia code only. Each cmd will run in an isolated process. So as long as reading the sheer amount of output of each cmd is not the bottle neck, you should get good speed.

1 Like

The usual picture is that thread is for CPU-bound and async coroutine for I/O-bound. Here, I believe I/O means anything goes through syscall so spawning subprocesses is included, even though the work inside the subprocess is CPU-bound. So, asyncmap (or @async etc.) seems to be the right choice to me. I expect Julia to handle multiple concurrent reads since it uses libuv (which communicates with kernel to switch to the I/O that is ready automatically).