Resurrecting universal database API

Based, on the other thread, it sounds like there is some interest in resurrecting the idea of a “universal Julia database API”. There are already some great Julia database packages, and thanks to ODBC.jl and JDBC.jl at least in principle we have everything covered, but currently there is no universal way of interacting with them.

The original attempt was DBAPI.jl. The simplest suggestion would seem to be starting out by updating that package for 0.7. Some packages may even have some old code for this sitting around.

Of course, this will only matter if all of the maintainers of the major database packages are on board.

The major packages I know of that we would need to get on board are

• ODBC.jl @quinnj
  • MySQL.jl @quinnj
  • JDBC.jl @avik (I am also an admin on this, so I can be responsible for this one)
  • LibPQ.jl @iamed2 (at least for me, this one is more and more important as time goes on as Postgres really seems to be gradually becoming the most dominant database)

I’m probably missing some, so definitely feel free to add some in if you know of others. @ScottPJones has also offered to help.

I’m willing to take charge on updating DBAPI and JDBC.

Thoughts? From the other thread it looked like everyone would be on-board, but we haven’t looped in @quinnj yet.

11 Likes

What’s the proposed API? Selfishly, I would push for it to resemble the API that ODBC/SQLite both follow; LibPQ is fairly close and I think it had a slightly nicer sink-streaming api where you just pass the INSERT statement w/ the source to stream.

Happy to chat more here or on a GitHub issue somewhere.

It doesn’t have to be anything fancy, at this point we don’t even have a uniform way to interact with all the database packages, so just having that would be a big step.