How do you store your data before and after processing with Julia?

Overview
I intend to process simulation data generated externally with Julia and would like some opinions on storage solutions for 1) the raw data, 2) the processed data, and 3) the processing inputs.

Data Description
There will be many similar projects each with several sets of simulation data. This simulation data will just be simple nodal values that can be stored as a 2D array [node_numbers,nodal_data]. The processed data will also likely be simple and 2D. The processing inputs will consist of constants and small vectors.

Considerations
There are other users who will need access to the data. They are used to working in Excel. I am thinking that storing all three data types as .csv files and organizing the projects with the file system would have the smallest learning curve. However, I am not sure that it is the best long-term solution. I have no experience with databases, but I understand that they can be viewed similarly to Excel and can perform some of the project organization all in one place. Moreover, I keep changing my mind on whether I should store processing inputs as a text file, spreadsheet, or just keep them at the top of the Julia code.

How do you store your data and how do you think I should store mine?

I found Json files handy for unstructured data and metadata.

4 Likes

The HDF5.jl format is also an option if you want hierarchical features and compression. Good for scientific data and you can save and read it with many other languages.

2 Likes

Home · XLSX.jl lets you read, create, or modify .xlsx files. I’m not suggesting that as your primary means of storing things, but in particular if you choose something other than .csv it gives you an option for interacting with coworkers who can’t/won’t use Julia.

3 Likes