RemoteChannel based Collective Operations

I have a small collection of tree-based collectives that I’m using for some of my projects. I’m new to distributed algorithms and wanted to get some thoughts on the code I’ve written and the profiling I’ve done in hopes of writing something that’d be useful to others. I’ve been working on parallel graph algorithms using distributed SPDM programs. I had some issues running MPI with our servers and since sought a pure julia solution.

I started working with DistributedArray’s SPDM module, but wanted something with tree based collectives. I’ve seen others mentioning Distributed.jl didn’t have a tree-based reduce and tried my hand at an some methods that emulate send and receive by putting and taking from RemoteChannels. Channels are precomputed on the spawning node (pid = 1) and passed to the processors when @spawn is called. Then each process uses the pre-computed channels (passed in as arguments) to send messages during the program’s execution.

The code currently includes:
- Broadcast
- Gather
- Reduce
- AllReduce
- Exclusive Prefix Scan (Blelloch Scan)
- Personalized All-to-All

each method, has a standard and profiling implementation and correctness testing. The algorithms implemented are tree based (hypercube) collectives from section 4 of Introduction to Parallel Computing (2nd edit.) and discussions with Prof. Ananth Grama. All methods work for any number of processors rather than clusters with just 2^k nodes, and RemoteChannels are parameterized by message type.

Profiling Done