Raspberry pi newbie, where to begin

Hi all

I’ve agreed to help a couple of my colleagues automate some of their lab equipment using a raspberry pi. This is pretty much the blind leading the blind, as I’ve never used a raspberry pi (or similar) before, but I’m more comfortable coding than they are and it sounded like a fun project. I’m keen to use Julia for the code if possible.

Essentially, they have two pumps. One pump pumps fluid from a large reservoir into 6 smaller tanks and the other pumps it out of the smaller tanks, into a waste tank.

They want to have the the fluid pumped in and at regular intervals about an hour apart, followed by pumping out. If the fluid level in any of the 6 tanks hits a certain max level, then the in pump should stop, but the out pump should keep going. After this, once all tanks are back down to the min level, normal in/out pumping should resume.

The pumps are set up for remote control “Stop/Start Connect remote switch between pins 7 and 15 of the 25D connector. A TTL compatible logic input (Low 0V, High 5V) may be applied to pin 7. Low input stops the pump, high input runs the pump. With no connection, the pump will default to running.”

If anything really unexpected happens (e.g. one tank is at min while another is at max, or one tank remains at max despite hours of only pumping out). The system should stop and we should be sent a text or whatsapp to say what the problem is.

This is just a general call for advice in all areas! Which raspberry pi should I be using, if I want to run Julia? What kit do I need to purchase to get me started (maybe someone has good/bad experience with particular fluid level switches)? Will the GPIO pins that come with the raspberry pi be enough to get the job done, or will I likely need additional adapters? Has anyone found a way they find particularly convenient for sending messages? Maybe someone found a particular resource useful for learning all this stuff?

Thanks in advance for any advice.