Questions on rigid body dynamics & Julia

Hi all! I’m just getting started with Julia. I’ll be working on motion planning algorithms and controls for rigid bodies. I’ve started to play around with various packages and had some general questions:

1. RigidBodyDynamics seems great so far! However, I’ve used Drake in the past and noticed it has Julia bindings. It looks like the author of the Julia package also tried the Julia bindings (and contributes to Drake?) but has contributed more actively to the Julia package. I’ll try out the Julia bindings soon but, in the meantime, can anyone share their experience with either of those options?
  2. There is a Quaternions package. Based on the multiplication implementation, it appears to be the Hamilton convention. Can anyone confirm?
  3. There is a Rotations package. Based on the multiplication implementation, it appears to be the Hamilton convention. Can anyone confirm?

Sorry if these questions were asked elsewhere, I couldn’t find anything through the search toolbar.

Thanks for reading!
Kyle

1 Like

I’m not the author of RigidBodyDynamics.jl, but I do sit next to him in lab. I’m also one of the original developers of Drake and I’m currently using RigidBodyDynamics.jl in Julia for my research.

We briefly played around with Julia bindings to Drake as a proof-of-concept, but I’m pretty confident that they’ve never been used for any actual projects and I wouldn’t recommend that route. Drake is very heavily C++ and Python-focused and there’s no indication of that changing in the near future. For dynamics in Julia I’d definitely recommend RigidBodyDynamics.jl over trying to wrap Drake.

On the other hand, if you need access to a few Drake functions, it should be pretty easy to call them via the Python bindings with PyCall.jl. I’ve never actually needed to do that in my work, but it should be pretty functional.