Question on the Design of Macro Hygiene

I am new to Julia so I am watching some tutorials. When I am watching a tutorial on Julia on the metaprogramming I see an example on the macro hygiene.

macro dummy(ex)
    return ex
end

xx = 3
@dummy yy = xx ^ 2 # print 9
yy # undefvalerror: yy not defined

My question is about the design of this feature. In this case, it seems to me intuitive that, given the fact that the user (who calls the dummy macro) has handed the variable name yy to the macro, he should himself be responsible for the naming conflict and stuffs. By this, I mean as the dev who writes the macro, we are probably supposed to (or are permitted to) mess up with this yy name as much as we want to fulfill the functionality. That’s the reason why the user gives us yy instead of a_very_obscure_name_that_he_will_not_use_anyway.

It is clear for me that local variables within the BODY of the macro should comply to the hygiene principle, but my question is that why do we need to keep the principle for the user-provided variable names as well? What are the potential problems if we did it otherwise?

I notice that Julia actually translates xx to Main.xx. My suspect is that there might be some implementational difficulty in creating a variable that is bound to the Main scope. I am not sure.

If you haven’t already read the relevant paragraph in the Julia manual, I would recommend you give it a look. I think it does a pretty good job explaining why hygiene is needed and the rationale behind the way it is handled by the compiler.

https://docs.julialang.org/en/v1/manual/metaprogramming/#Hygiene

Looking at your example, but in a slightly different context where the macro is invoked in a local scope:

julia> macro dummy(ex)
           return ex
       end
@dummy (macro with 1 method)

julia> let xx = 3
           @macroexpand @dummy yy = xx ^ 2
       end
:(var"#1#yy" = Main.xx ^ 2)

we see that there are actually two issues here: