Question - for loop - variable assignments

Hi Community

I’m new to Julia (startet today), so if this question does not fit here, let me know.

My first idea was to compare Julias speed for simple calculus with other languages i know (its in this particular area much faster than Python, R and AutoIT!)

So my Julia attempt looks like this:

x = 0
for j in 1:8
    @time begin
        for i in 1:(j*10000000)
            x = i * i
            if i == (j*10000000)
                print(x, "\n")
            end
        end
        print("Time needed for " * string(j) * " * 10^7 calculations:")
    end
end
print(x)

You see at the end of the algorithm that I print the variable x.
The output tells me that x is equal to 0, that means x is just assigned within the loop.
How do i have to change my code, so that x is globaly changed?

If you’d like to se my implementations in Python, R and AutoIT, let me know.

Do you have other suggestions for Speed-Comparison-Implementations to test various Big-O notations?

I’m sure you’ll get quite a few tips from the benchmarking experts on here, but I think some of the key points are:

1. Don’t benchmark in global scope
    Code execution in global scope slows Julia down, so if you want to benchmark stuff, be sure to wrap it in a function and time function execution. Coincidentally this will also solve your issue of x not being updated, which indeed is a scoping issues (loops introduce local scopes in Julia).

2. Use BenchmarkTools and the @btime macro to benchmark