Python porting to Julia resources

I’m trying to port an Machine Learning app that was written in Python using Pytorch to Julia and I’m a newbie in Julia.
Is there a resource,cheat sheet that show how the same thing work in Julia for examples
Python Julia
class ?
init ?
call ?
iter ?
**kwargs ?
etc…
I’ve been reading Julia doc but would take too long I want to get this done a little faster

1 Like

Are you asking for help woth those specific things or a resource for the machine learning functions?

• Classes don’t exist in Julia
  • Init isn’t necessary to create structures. Loook at Constructors · The Julia Language
  • Iterators are pretty broad and what you want to do will depend on the type of iteration.
  • You can just write methodname(; kwargs...)
1 Like

If you intend to actually use Julia besides porting one application, you’ll probably be better off learning Julia properly. The documentation and several available tutorials are available for that. It quickly pays off when you don’t have to consult online forums for simple things.

10 Likes

I thought some one have done this before porting their Python app over to Julia
they might have some resource that they used willing to share on the net.

1 Like

I’m sure similar things have been ported over but it’s unclear what you would need. There’s not a general “How to convert Python to Julia” guide (although I’m sure there’s some sort of numpy to julia guide out there).

There’s not an exact PyTorch equivalent, but there are several neural net libraries. You can get a lot done with Flux.jl. I’m not personally familiar with Knet.jl, but I’ve heard it’s well implemented and easy to use. You could also use Tensorflow.jl which you might prefer if you’re familiar with Tensorflow but want the benefits of Julia.