Proper way to use Pkg.test

I’m new to Julia and doing some development work on an existing package RData.

I am attempting to run Pkg.test, and I’m a little confused as to why my dev environment cannot be located.

I’ve created the directory: dvl/julia.packages and added that to my LOAD_PATH (via startup.jl)

~$ cat .julia/config/startup.jl
push!(LOAD_PATH, “/home/warmstrong/dvl/julia.packages”)

then I cloned my github project to that dir, made changes, etc.

In my attempt to run the testsuite I do the following:
(from a clean session)

julia> using Pkg

julia> Pkg.test(“RData”)
ERROR: The following package names could not be resolved:

• RData (not found in project or manifest)
    Please specify by known name=uuid.
    Stacktrace:
    [1] pkgerror(::String) at /buildworker/worker/package_linux64/build/usr/share/julia/stdlib/v1.1/Pkg/src/Types.jl:120
    [2] #ensure_resolved#43(::Bool, ::Function, ::Pkg.Types.EnvCache, ::Array{Pkg.Types.PackageSpec,1}) at /buildworker/worker/package_linux64/build/usr/share/julia/stdlib/v1.1/Pkg/src/Types.jl:898
    [3] ensure_resolved at /buildworker/worker/package_linux64/build/usr/share/julia/stdlib/v1.1/Pkg/src/Types.jl:868 [inlined]
    [4] #test#42(::Bool, ::Base.Iterators.Pairs{Union{},Union{},Tuple{},NamedTuple{(),Tuple{}}}, ::Function, ::Pkg.Types.Context, ::Array{Pkg.Types.PackageSpec,1}) at /buildworker/worker/package_linux64/build/usr/share/julia/stdlib/v1.1/Pkg/src/API.jl:269
    [5] #test#41 at /buildworker/worker/package_linux64/build/usr/share/julia/stdlib/v1.1/Pkg/src/API.jl:258 [inlined]
    [6] test at /buildworker/worker/package_linux64/build/usr/share/julia/stdlib/v1.1/Pkg/src/API.jl:255 [inlined]
    [7] #test#40 at /buildworker/worker/package_linux64/build/usr/share/julia/stdlib/v1.1/Pkg/src/API.jl:254 [inlined]
    [8] test at /buildworker/worker/package_linux64/build/usr/share/julia/stdlib/v1.1/Pkg/src/API.jl:254 [inlined]