Programming numeric simulations of thermodynamic systems in Julia

Hi Julia Community,

I’m really new to the Julia language and this is my first post in the forum. Moreover english is not my mother tongue, so I hope you can understand my question and help me to increase my skills with Julia.

I try to use the Julia language to calculate numeric simulations of different thermodynamic systems. I have thought of a possibility to structure my script, but I’m not really sure, if it’s the way to go in Julia to reach a good performance. Here is a little example what I wanna do:

Part 1:
I want to simulate different types of thermodynamic systems with different kinds of fluids and connections between the systems. So in the first step I have to create my system. I think that structs will be a good option to structure my system:

abstract type System end
abstract type Fluid end

struct Air <: Fluid end

struct Container <: System
    fluid::Fluid
    T::Vector{Float64}
    m::Vector{Float64}    
    p::Vector{Float64}
    V::Vector{Float64}
end

struct ThermoSys
    systems::Vector{System}
    connections::Vector{Any}
end

function calc_mass(V, T)
    return 1*10^5 * V / (0.287069 *10^3 * T)
end

function create_thermo_systems()
    system1 = Container(Air(), [300], [calc_mass(0.01, 300)], [1*10^5], [0.01])
    system2 = Container(Air(), [300], [calc_mass(0.05, 300)], [1*10^5], [0.05])
    ExampleSystem = ThermoSys([system1, system2], [1, 2, 0.05])
    return ExampleSystem
end

Thats just a small example. The systems will be much more complex in the final program. In this example is a function which creates two containers of different volume and filled with air. The fluid has a temperature, a pressure and a mass. The containers are connected with each other. I decided to use vectors for the definition of temperature, mass, etc… to update the data in the simulation and use the created system as a data storage.

Part 2: