Empty vs. value types, and vectorisation

I’m quite new to Julia and am currently starting my first “real” project. One of the “innermost” things I have to implement are properties of various liquids, for example the density, as a function of temperature. I’m not sure which is the correct way to implement this in Julia, so thanks for your advice.

The liquids share no common data, so I went with “empty” types:

abstract type Fluid end
struct Water <: Fluid end

Then, define the property functions, e.g.:

density(::Water, th) = 1000.0 - th/100.0 # not physically correct ;-)

Evaluating the properties then is like:

myfluid = Water()
density(myfluid, 273.0)
density.(myfluid, [273.0, 300.0])

But the second call (density.) throws the MethodError that there’s no method for length(::Water).

My questions:

1. Would using a value type be more appropriate here? E.g.:
struct Fluid{name} end
Fluid(name) = Fluid{name}()

density(::Fluid{:Water}, th) = ...

myfluid = Fluid(:Water)
  1. What’s the preferred way of enabling “vectorisation” / broadcasting in such a case? I could define the property functions in a vectorised form, e.g.
    density(::Water, th) = 1000.0 .- th./100.0. This would allow to use them with arrays for th as well, but with the same “not-obviously-broadcasted” function name without trailing dot. Can I somehow tell Julia that ::Water is always scalar? I don’t want to implement all required AbstractArray methods accordingly.

2. Is there a better way in general to implement this all in Julia?

Your first question should be: Do specific fluids really want to be a type? That is, do you know what fluid you are dealing with at compile time? If you have heterogenous datastructures (mixing e.g. Fluid{:Water} and Fluid{:Oil}), then this won’t perform well.

Regarding the broadcasting, this is a case where closures/anonymous functions could be appropriate:

function foo!(densities, temperatures, fluid)
densities .= (th-> density(fluid, th)).(temperatures)
nothing
end