Problem with Ntuple and VariableRef when using NLconstraint in JuMP

Hi everybody,

Below is a simplified part of my code, which attempts to do nonlinear optimization using JuMP . I have both cost and constraints which require vector input. However I am having issues with NLconstraint. Would anyone know how I could make this piece of code run? I read somewhere that when using splatting there are limitations (cannot due linear algebra with it), but maybe there is a way around it. I am new to Julia so any advice would be helpful.

using Zygote
using LinearAlgebra
using JuMP
using Ipopt

N=100
d=4
a = (N+1)*d
b = (N+1)*d
c = (N+1)*d

size_overall = a+b+c

print(size_overall,“\n”)
#say for this example
A = Matrix(I, d, d)
B = 2 .*Matrix(I, d, d)
#then

func1(q,z) = q’Az+z’Bq;
func2(q,z) = func1((q+z)./2,z)
beta(r,v) = gradient(tv->func2(r,tv),v)[1]
alpha(v,e) = gradient(tv->func2(tv,e),v)[1]

function cost_func(x…)
dot(x,x)
end

model = Model(Ipopt.Optimizer)
@variable(model,x[1:size_overall])

JuMP.register(model, :f, size_overall, cost_func,autodiff = true)
@NLobjective(model,Min,f(x…))

function func_con(y…)
x=y
f_constr = zeros((N+1)d2)
for k = 1:N+1
f_constr[(k-1)2d+1:(k-1)2d+d] .= x[a+(k-1)d+1:a+kd]+alpha(x[(k-1)d+1:kd],x[k*d+1:(k+1)*d])-x[b+(k-1)*d+1:b+k*d]
f_constr[(k-1)2d+d+1:(k)2d] .= x[a+(k)*d+1:a+(k+1)d]- beta(x[(k-1)d+1:kd],x[kd+1:(k+1)*d])

end
return f_constr

end

register(model, :func_con, size_overall, func_con; autodiff = true)
@NLconstraint(model,[i=1:size_overall],func_con(x…)[i]==0)

@time(optimize!(model))

You can convert between tuples and vectors as follows:

julia> x = (1,2,3)
(1, 2, 3)

julia> collect(x)
3-element Vector{Int64}:

julia> y = [1, 2, 3]
3-element Vector{Int64}:

julia> tuple(y...)
(1, 2, 3)

You should read: https://jump.dev/JuMP.jl/stable/tutorials/Nonlinear%20programs/nlp_tricks/#User-defined-functions-with-vector-outputs

Are all your functions quadratic? (I couldn’t see anything more complicated than that.)