Problem processing non utf8 string

I am brand new to Julia, and this is my first project, writing software for an archiving/backup system, from a multitude of different sources. I am trying to read in and processes files (often up to a gigabyte big) of what is essentially records of text data (one record per line) but the meaning and use of the upper 128 possible byte values is very varied, often even within one record. So, I need to inspect, slice, create substrings, compare, hash (to look for repetition etc.) these records and substrings of these records, always referenced by byte count from the beginning of the record or substring, and regard the number of possible different characters as 256. (From my point of view, for example a record or a bit of a record may actually be utf8 Unicode, but handling a 2 byte uft8 character as two separate characters for me is a non issue. For most processing I simply do not need to discover whether if is Unicode, symbols from a ‘code-page’, peculiar to the owner of that record, a corruption, parity or whatever).

I seem to be having having big problems with julia handling my records. I seem to have two choices. I can either first convert each byte of my record into utf8 string format, (where all bytes over 127 would become two bytes, the first of which would be 0xc2 or 0xc3) and then, after processing, I need to convert back again. Alternatively I can convert into an array of characters each of which is 32bits (4 bytes) long, and then convert that back into to a byte string again. The actual processing in this latter form seems much harder. (To set about my problem regarding the whole file as an integer array is even more messy.) I just seem to clash with the language somewhere, either in the conversions, and/or in the bit of i/o handling still required. I really have not yet contemplated creating my own string abstraction.